Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 7th, 2010

My appetite was a monster the other day.  Not a little monster either, a BIG a$$ monster. 

I didn’t have work, so I let myself sleep in a bit, but once my alarm went off at 8, my stomach was growling like an overly-protective Rottweiler.  That’s not typical for me.  My stomach usually needs a few minutes (or an hour) to warm up to the idea of calories.  If you know me, you know I’m not a morning person, but my stomach is even less so.  Ordinarily I ease it in with coffee…today, though, I needed coffee 0.172 seconds after rolling out of bed.  I got a pot a brewing and then did my AM routine (wash, brush, scrub, moisturize, yadda yadda).

IMG_7031IMG_7032

I’ve been using agave nectar in my coffee lately instead of stevia because I bought (the above) brand last time at WFs and IT. IS. NAST.  Seriously.  DisGUSTing.  Sweet Leaf?  I don’t think so.  The one time I used it, it tasted extremely bitter, didn’t mix with my coffee, and as a result, I was left with black coffee – ruined by floating chunks of bitter white powder.  Ew.  So much for saving $2.  I should never have strayed from my wonderful NuNaturals.  I just wish it weren’t so pricey…

Anyways, for breakfast I knew I needed something with staying power.

IMG_5441

Justin’s cinnamon P.B. on an english muffin

Yeah, that didn’t last long…I immediately felt empty and required more food.  Odd.  Sooooo get ready for loads of kcals, because the photos are coming ‘atcha.

IMG_7116

Hippo-Pita-mmus (aka pita with hummus). 

IMG_7034

Whole Foods sells their own brand of sandwich thins and they are really good!  I have gone through a few bags of the multi-grain kind, mostly with peanut butter and agave syrup, but this time around I went with an open faced sammie with avocado, roasted red pepper hummus, and two different kinds of veggie burgersDr. Praeger’s on the left and Boca vegan burger on the right.

IMG_7035

These Dr. Praeger’s are from a century ago…can you tell I’m not a fan??  Yeah, they’ve been hanging around taking up room in the freezer for FAR too long.  I didn’t really want to eat them, but in the interest of cleaning out the freezer and making room for food I actually like, I decided to just go for it.

I will say, the fact that there were visible peas and carrots in the burger was kinda cool.  I like seeing veggies in a veggie burger.  Mock meat isn’t my thang.

IMG_6971

Greens + balls

IMG_6972

Some of my fave things 😉

IMG_6973

The more colors in my salads, the happier my tummy is.  It’s science.

IMG_7056IMG_7067

Apple.  Smoothie – about to meet it’s maker.

IMG_7146

Sometimes I feel like I could live off of fruit smoothies.

I made a super huge pot of chili (TVP and every bean under the sun), then tupperwared up the rest for later.

IMG_6772

I had a bowl for sampling purposes of course, covered in rice milk mozzarella.

IMG_6778IMG_6773

This cheese is so-so.  If you recall I tried this same brand earlier (in the block form).  Well, it’s not amazing, but it’s way better shredded.

IMG_6777IMG_6779

At least it’s gluten free, preservative free, soy free, and (clearly) lactose free.

IMG_7107

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, kids, but the chocolate flavor Oikos isn’t half the man the caramel flavor is.  I shed a tear, and then finished it off.

IMG_7157IMG_7158

PB&DP…and in case you aren’t down with the TLAs (three letter abbrevs) I’ll break it down for ya.  That’s Peanut Butter and Dried Pears, duh!  Isn’t it totally obnoxious when people use abbreviations for things and then write them out after anyways…yeah, I hate that!  🙂

IMG_7118IMG_7119

Have you ever wondered if it’s possible to make oatmeal raisin cookie dough without putting any effort into it?  Just me?  Fine.  But just in case you were, I’d say put rolled oats (not instant, not steel cut, big fatty whole oats), water, and coconut milk in a tupperware and let it soak for a while.  I also added raisins, cinnamon and agave nectar.  The oats soaked up the liquid, then I added in peanut butter, stirred some’mo and let it chill in the fridge.  Basically it was like a massive tupp ’o oats.  I ate it with a spoon (yes, uncooked) and it was thick and delish.  I felt like a stoned college student, stuffing my face with cookie dough (except that I wasn’t worried that I’d get salmonella poisoning from raw eggs because it was vegan). 

As far as my February plan (AAAA) is going, I made it to a spin class (success!), but tomorrow is a 4M run and I’m not going.  It’s wasted money, which I’m annoyed about, but it’s freezing, and I haven’t been feeling very well.  So whatever.  I’m not going to dwell on it.  It is what it is.  Small steps are better than no steps, right?

I also worked a few days after this post, but I’m too lazy to catch up.  Just picture salads, bars, hummus, and apples and you’ve pretty much got it.

Read Full Post »