Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 8th, 2011

I haven’t had very many interesting things to share.  The weather went from shorts and tank-top temperatures to bundle in layers degrees.  Don’t you gauge the season by outfits, too?

I still fit a 4 mile run in yesterday between stuffing my face with brownies.

IMG_6241

One, two, buckle my shoe unbuckle my belt…

IMG_6242

Okay, okay, I didn’t JUST have brownies (as if you’d judge me either way).

I had a huge bowl of nearly-spilling-over-the-edge oatmeal.

IMG_6239

  • 1 cup whole rolled oats
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • dash of cinnamon
  • drip of NuNaturals’ vanilla stevia

IMG_6240

Perfection

My evening was uneventful.  Kyle and his waffle team are working furiously on their big presentation this week, so I was left to my own devices for the entire day.  Amazingly, I got very little accomplished, unless you count clearing out the DVR.

Dinner was simple.

IMG_6252

Sweet potato stuffed with hummus (a new flavor!) with a steamed kale and carrot salad and falafel crumbled on top.

IMG_6247IMG_6248

One half of the sweet tater had the last bit of the old Sabra flavor (roasted pinenut), while the other side had the new kind (spinach and artichoke).

IMG_6249

This was confusing for my taste buds.  It really didn’t have enough chickpea or tahini flavor going on and for me, it was mostly like a spinach artichoke dip.  It was good, but shouldn’t be categorized as a hummus.  Make no mistake, I enjoyed it thoroughly (and definitely added heaps more after taking the photo).

IMG_6257

For dessert, I opted to nix the brownies (lest I OD in under 24 hours), and chose a new-to-me Clif MOJO.

IMG_6264

Sweet & Salty Trail Mix Bar…mmmm…

IMG_6263

These bars are perfect in satisfying either kind of craving – salty AND sweet.  The crushed pieces of pretzels and mini butterscotch chips are drool inducing.  Try as I might to slowly savor the bar, I still scarfed it in under a minute.

IMG_6265

I may have to attempt a home-made replication of this soon.  It was friggin’ awesome.

IMG_6266

After dessert, I packed up my work food for the day and started settling into my PM routine.

Work was work.

Jillian-ed it up with The Shred at 4:30 am then broke the fast with coffee and an apple.

IMG_6268IMG_6278

Work breakfast was oats.  Nothing too fancy, just strawberries & cinnamon.

IMG_6270

My main course for lunch was steamed kale topped with spaghetti squash and vegan Field Roast (and subsequently doused in Bragg’s liquid aminos).

Oops, I still owe you all that Field Roast review, huh?  Ok, I’ll get on that 🙂

IMG_6273

Don’t tell Kyle, but me and Nana are starting to have an affair.  This is my 3rd in a week.  😉  Ginger is one of the best flavors.

IMG_6274

Whoever is the grandchild of “Nana” is SO effing lucky.  These cookies are out of control.  I’ve tried every flavor and they are all perfect.  Chewy, gooey, and melt in your mouth sweet.

IMG_6275

Best of all they don’t shoot your blood glucose through the roof.  Always a plus.  My only complaint is that the serving size is 1/2 a cookie.  Because it’s BS to think that anyone could eat half of one of these babies and call it a day.  I dare you.

IMG_6276

The rest of the snack pack included raw cauliflower and carrots with Sabra hummus, two apples, and mucho candied ginger.

I have to share a photo that I took on my lunch break (with my phone’s camera) because, well, you’ll see…

I’m sorry about the quality (my blackberry is certainly no iPhone) and the odd angle (I was trying to be semi-incognito), but as you can see here, some mighty fine characters hang around the hospital.  Allow me to draw attention to his plastic gold stunna shades, his ghetto phabulous chain necklace, and his beach blanket (a pile of stripped clothes).  The best part of all, however, which is sadly not caught on film, is that this was mid-exercise.  Mid-crunches, to be specific.  Let me tell you, the guy had spectators.  It was a scene.  Anyway.  I thought you may enjoy it.  It definitely made my lunch break that much more entertaining.

When I got home I did some damage to the brownies and eventually contemplated dinner.  More on that later…

Read Full Post »

Kale is the new spinach

Anyone see the latest Modern Family?  Well, whether you did or didn’t, you’ll be happy to know that veg friendly foods are getting major shout-outs on sitcom TV as of late.  In addition to the aforementioned episode highlighting kae as the new “it” green leafy veggie, a few weeks ago seitan was featured on Parenthood.  Hooray for making vegan cuisine more mainstream!!

IMG_6180

One giant leap for vegankind…

On that note, I finally got around to making a dish I’d been toying with brainstorming for a few months (yes, months).

Vegan Creamed Kale

Ingredients:

  • kale, 4-6 big leaves
  • 1/4 cup soaked cashews
  • 2 tbsp honey mustard
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1 tbsp garlic salt (more or less to taste)
  • 1 tbsp onion powder

IMG_6179

Directions:

Rinse and drain soaked cashews and combine with all other ingredients in a food processor.

IMG_6185IMG_6190

Pulse until smooth.

IMG_6191

Taste test 🙂

Sautee kale in a pan with a glug of EVOO.

IMG_6202IMG_6203

While a “glug” may not seem a technical instruction, it’s not rocket science.  Just add the kale, cover with a lid, and let the steam do most of the work.

IMG_6205 

Steamayyyy.

IMG_6207

Once the kale starts to get a little wilty, pour in the cashew sauce.

IMG_6208

Fold the sauce into the kale so the leaves all get evenly coated.

IMG_6209

Let it simmer for another few minutes until the sauce heats up and starts thickening.  And voila!  Creamed spinach kale.

IMG_6215

I served mine up alongside a big heap of fresh-from-the-rice-cooker quinoa

IMG_6218

And then I mixed it all together.

IMG_6225

Holy. BLEEP.

IMG_6224

I’m pretty sure this is the best recipe I’ve made to date.  How is it that cashews make the most insanely simple concept so freakin’ fantastic?  This tasted like a creamy, warm-your-belly, comfort dish.

IMG_6216

I am definitely bookmarking this one for future Thanksgiving and/or Christmas dinners because I know everyone will love it – vegans, carnivores, even my picky little sister who finds some ingredient she doesn’t like in every recipe on earth (sorry bee, you know it’s true!). 

IMG_6228

I had seconds (duh) and then added the last of the quinoa to the drippy drops of sauce left in the food processor so as not to waste even a nanogram of cashew cream. 

If there weren’t the risk of slicing off my tongue I would have licked the entire blade clean too.  Kyle always jokes that I am like a cat because I lick EVERY inch of food clean on my plate/utensil.  What can I say?  I don’t like waste like food.  🙂

Read Full Post »