Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 14th, 2011

After another LOOOOONG morning at the Natural Foods Expo, lunchtime rolled around and Kyle and I were beyond tired (read: ready to throw in the towel).  We came, we saw, we conquered, and we were exhausted. 

Rather than return for another 5 hours of crowds and chaos, we decided that we had pretty much enjoyed everything Anaheim had to offer.  Game, set, match.

With grumbling tummies (I don’t know how), we said goodbye to the Convention Center and set out to find a real meal. 

IMG_6435

A quick search on my blackberry revealed we weren’t too far away from the Costa Mesa Native Foods.  SWEET!

I ordered the Scorpion Burger.

IMG_6438

This sando is made with Chef Tanya’s original homemade tempeh blackened with chipotle sauce and topped with lettuce, carrots, avocado and onions.

IMG_6439

It was much spicier than I remembered, but I enjoyed the kick in the pants mouth.  Chef Tanya should really package the rub on this…it might even convince me to make my own tempeh dishes at home. 

IMG_6440

Here’s a shot of my sammie doing the splits (with one bite missing).  I licked my plate (and fingers) clean.   

IMG_6437

Kyle got the Portobello and Sausage Burger with juicy grilled portobellos, homemade seitan sausage, pomodoro, caramelized onions, sweet roasted garlic, creamy pumpkin seed pesto and mayo.

IMG_6436

He enjoyed it very very much, along with the side of sweet potato fries.

IMG_6441

After a few minutes of browsing the cute shops surrounding the restaurant (dubbed crazy hippie spots by Kyle), we headed back to my G-ma’s to pack up our stuff and head back to Santa Monica.

IMG_6444 

After two days straight of snacking on packaged samples, I was craving fresh fruit like nobody’s business, so I practically bee-lined for the fruit basket upon entering the apartment. 

While I got to work uploading photos and unpacking, I decided to sample a new VitaTop flavor.

IMG_6446

Vitalicious Apple Crumb.

IMG_6447

It smelled like Christmas when I opened it.  Must be the cinnamon.  My family has a tradition of making cinnamon coffee cake on Christmas morning, so it was sensory nostalgia from the get go.

IMG_6450

I heated it in the microwave for a few seconds to get it warm, just like real coffee cake.  Mmmm…

IMG_6451

It wasn’t quite like a true muffin top, because it was more airy and light.  Muffin tops (in my opinion) are the more dense and less bready portion of the muffin (so this was more like the muffin bottom).

The first ingredient is water (weird?), and from there on it lists whole wheat flour, apples, natural chicory fiber (inulin), applesauce, etc.  While it’s not vegan (it has trace egg whites further down on the list), the ingredients are not terrible.  There are more than I typically like, but it’s healthier than coffee cake if you are going to have a breakfast treat.  And while I rarely take note of calories or those kinds of stats, you should know that the entire muffin has a mere 100 calories with negligible amounts of fat.  In other words, you I could eat a dozen no problem.  I would definitely put them in the “diet” category of products (not that there’s anything wrong with that, I’m just calling it like I see it). 

IMG_6449

By the way does anyone else think of Seinfeld when they think of muffin tops?

So yeah, the Vita was my pre-dinner snack.

IMG_6464

And then eventually, I made a wrap.

Ingredients:

  • Alvarado Street Bakery sprouted tortilla
  • Earthbound Farms organic spinach
  • organic tomatoes
  • organic sprouts
  • seitan
  • Pita Pal hummus
  • honey mustard

IMG_6456IMG_6460

IMG_6457IMG_6459

Ingredients for change

IMG_6461 

So big!  Seitan overload.

IMG_6466

I was far too ambitious with this wrap for sure.  It ended up being a fork and knife kind of meal. 

IMG_6467

I had a big hunk of brownie for dessert – a chocolate deception brownie.  And once my stomach was satisfied, I allowed my body to succumb to the waves of somnolence that I’d been fighting all day.  Zzzzz.

Read Full Post »

To say I scored in the swag department would be a gross understatement…

IMG_6442

This weekend I hit the natural foods jackpot!

If you take a peak in one of the FIVE bags above, you’d see a little something like this…

IMG_6443

Sample size me!

The fact that I was fairly picky in which products I opted to take samples of should be an indication of the quality of the entire event. 

Shocking as it may be, I did eat actual meals in between the massive amounts of samples. 

I already shared with you Friday’s lunch event, which was so gourmet and fabulous, it made that night’s dinner look fairly ghetto.

IMG_6375

Amy’s soup, La Brea Bakery loaf, and Pita Pal hummus.

I always make it a point to try new brands of hummus when I see them, and since I was staying with my G-ma in Newport Beach, I had to take advantage of this kind. 

Upon googling, I discovered Pita Pal also offers frozen falafel, salsas, and other dips. 

IMG_6381

I opted for the original flavor.  Consistency-wise it was perfect.  Creamy like Sabra but still really really thick.  Flavor-wise it didn’t have very strong tahini tones, but the spices on top were nice.  I’d buy it again. 

IMG_6380

I alternated dipping the bread in the hummus and the soup. 

IMG_6383

Amy’s soups are almost always winners in my book, but this low sodium lentil was on the bland side.  The absence of salt apparently translated to the absence of flavor. 

IMG_6382

After polishing off the soup and bread, I turned to dessert…my G-ma had a bag of cuties and although citrus usually isn’t my thing, they were so good I couldn’t stop.  Plus, peeling them is kinda therapeutic.  I had a baker’s dozen – it was a peel-athon. 

My G-ma had other plans for dessert…

IMG_6389

Caught red handed with a full mouth!  She may kill me for posting this photo.

IMG_6391

My family members won’t be surprised to find out that it was actually my G-ma who beat me to taste testing my Expo West goodies.  She shows surprising self-control when it comes to portions, but when sweets (namely chocolate) or Charles Shaw are in her sight – watch out.  So after I brought my swag out to show her the latest natural foods products, my G-ma was instantly drawn to the new PROBAR flavor, Nutty Marshmallow

IMG_6388

She thoughtfully examined the bar…then went in for the kill.

IMG_6393

I know she enjoyed it.  ;) 

After savoring the last bite, she made me review the photos with her and begged me to delete the bad ones (which I didn’t do).

While Kyle studied for finals upstairs, G-ma and I spent the rest of the night stretching our backs and exchanging exercise ball moves (that’s actually not a joke).  And of course reciting lines from Pride & Prejudice.  Just a typical Friday night.

Read Full Post »