Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 14th, 2011

Ladies and gentlemen, Alexia Spicy Sweet Potato Julienne Fries with Chipotle Seasoning

IMG_7343

I wasn’t going to share this…because frankly I am a bit embarrassed by it…but I’m only human after all. 

IMG_7333

So I opened this bag to make as a dinner “side dish” and guess what?  I ate the whole thing.  By myself. 

IMG_7335IMG_7334

I know I’m not the first person to ever do such a thing.  But I’m not so sure it’s something I’m proud of.  I like eating what I want, when I want, and not feeling bad or guilty or whatever about it.  It’s just food; it doesn’t mean anything about me as a person, and yet, I don’t exactly like celebrating such glutinous behavior.  This was only my dinner’s side dish after all…  Sheesh. 

FYI, I’m choosing to show you the nutritional stats only because I took a photo of the label, but rest assured, the other night I turned my blind eye to it. 

IMG_7336

They were easy as pie to make.  Dump from bag to pan and slide into oven. 

IMG_7338

Once you smell them, you know it’s time to grub.  I had them with BBQ sauce because that’s how I roll.  Spicy and saucy are a good match. 

IMG_7341

They were actually salty enough on their own.  I loved the flaky crust that caked each fry, but to be fair, they didn’t really taste anything like fries.  Alexia seems unsure if they are a health food or not.  Ordinarily I wouldn’t buy these on my own, but I had a coupon for one free item (the only kind of coupon I’ll use). 

IMG_7342

But here’s the thing, I rarely (slash never) crave greasy packaged foods.  So while these baked sweet potato fries may be a healthy-ish option for those who regularly buy frozen or fried eats, for me personally, they are a big step down from my typical food choices.  Does that make Alexia’s fries a good compromise?  Or does it make me a food snob?

IMG_7344

Maybe both.  Maybe neither.  Meh.  Whatever, I don’t have the energy.  They were ok, but I wouldn’t buy them on my own. 

IMG_7345 

Naturally I followed up my anti-Atkin’s pre-meal with an equally carb-tastic dinner. 

IMG_7135

Tropical Traditions Coconut Peanut Butter and raisins on toasted Alvarado Street bread. 

When was the last time you opened and subsequently finished a package in one sitting?  Please don’t leave me hanging here peeps!  And please don’t judge me.  I swear I eat wholesome food most of the time!

Read Full Post »