Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 28th, 2011

Maiden loaf

There’s nothing like a new food appliance to get you excited and inspired in the kitchen.

IMG_7609

After years of ooing and aahing over home-made breads, I finally made the plunge and got what I was lusting after. 

IMG_7626

I did a fair amount of research prior to buying one.  I wanted a reliable machine, but I didn’t wanna blow my bank account on some fancy schmancy professional breadmaker.  I’m not going on Top Chef any time soon after all.

And so I settled on the Sunbeam 2 lb. Breadmaker – model 5981. 

IMG_7659

My maiden loaf was baking within hours of opening the box.  And it was the simplest thing EVER. 

I didn’t even need to go to the store for ingredients, I had all (6) ingredients on hand.  Not too surprising considering it only required water, butter (Earth Balance), sugar (coconut sugar), salt, whole wheat flour, and yeast. 

IMG_7662 

Voila!

Vegan whole wheat bread. 

IMG_7669 

Toasted with peanut butter.  Mmmmmelty. 

My first bread making experience couldn’t have been more simple.  Or more delicious.  I’m not kidding.  Any idiot could make perfect loaves of bread with this machine.  I’m in love.

Read Full Post »