Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 18th, 2010

Eighty five candles

Saturday was my grandma’s 85th birthday.

IMG_4752

Well, technically it’s not until later this week, but it was her birthday PARTY at least.  I hope I’m blessed with her genes because she doesn’t look 85 at all!  Am I right or am I right? 

To celebrate, my Aunt and Uncle hosted a party at their house in Laguna Beach.  Naturally, our family gatherings include lots of fun and good food, so I’ll share some of the highlights.

IMG_4761

G-ma, Auntie Wendy, me, Mom

IMG_4793

Hazel

IMG_4750

Food

From left to right: vegetarian lasagna, warm ciabatta bread, turkey lasagna, salad, and vegan pasta

Yes, you read that correctly, my Aunt made a vegan dish

IMG_4751

She used my vegan lasagna recipe, subbing whole wheat shells for lasagna noodles.  And it was fan-damn-tastic. 

IMG_4763

I love warm bread.  I love when the crust is crunchy and the inside is doughy.  Yum yum yum.

Finn feels the same. 

IMG_4768

It’s important to pass on key life lessons to our youth…and it’s never too early to learn about carb lovin’ right?  Right.  🙂

IMG_4764

I got a bit of errrthang on my first plate, and went back for seconds of the vegan pasta because it was cheesy bliss.

IMG_4796

Two desserts, many candles, one song.  Happy birthday G-ma!!

IMG_4744

Choose wisely Finn…

IMG_4808

While most of the fam was oohing and aahing over the chocolate bundt cake with flan on top, I was having my own dessert ‘gasm.

IMG_4805

This, my friends, is proof that my family is too good to me.  Also known as vegan peanut butter fudge from Whole Foods.  Holy no words (as in speechlessly good).  It tasted like a dense version of the inside of a Reese’s peanut butter cup.  It was buttery and flaky and just about the best thing I’ve had in a while (and vegan no less!).  It was also so rich I had to stop half way to not wind up in a sugar coma (and that’s saying a LOT since we all know I have zero self control).  I did take the rest home (and as suspected, it lasted less than a day in the apartment). 

The next morning my parents met us for brunch at Huckleberry

IMG_4833

You’d think I have stock in the company I go so frequently!  I’ve taken each and every family member who has visited me 🙂

IMG_4817

The proximity to my apartment is hard to beat, and anyways, who doesn’t love fresh baked goods? 

IMG_4826

Brunch definitely deserves it’s own post, so stay tuned…

Read Full Post »